Breakfast Burritos on the Go!

This week has been one of surprises for me. On Sunday night we received a call from a friend of ours who was coming to town to do some work and needed a place to hang out. Two days later I got a call from my best friend Laurie who let me know she was coming to see me for a few days and bringing her daughter Sarah with. All of these people are welcomed guests and I am thrilled that I am able to use this house, the one the Lord gave me for His Glory. Every morning has been one of thinking what can I make for breakfast using what I have here and yet be tempting for everyone.

On Tuesday I decided to make something Laurie’s husband Jim made one morning when we were at their house, Breakfast Burritos. I went in the freezer and found a package of turkey breakfast sausage, cheese in the fridge, a green and red pepper and an onion. On the shelf I found a can of potatoes from Aldi’s and went to making a breakfast that I could make ahead of time and still keep warm. First I cooked the sausage, then drained the grease, added the onion, green and red pepper and finally the potatoes until they were all cooked. Then I took the tortillas and spread some of the meat mixture on them, covered with some cheese and rolled them up. I placed them in foil and kept them warm until everyone was ready to eat.

As I was making them I thought this would be an inexpensive yet healthy thing for people to make ahead of time and put in the freezer for when you are in a hurry like taking kids to school, going to work or even Sunday mornings to church when everyone is running late. The food is so much healthier than any fast food place and what a gift to your family as they are eating something made by mom in the car. We also like them with salsa,

I am going to try and make more over the weekend and add a picture for you to see what a presentation it is.

Let me know how you like them. Until next time, enjoy everyday living!

Di

Published in: on July 23, 2009 at 3:12 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://disdelight.wordpress.com/2009/07/23/breakfast-burritos-on-the-go/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

